The Baker’s Dozen

November 21, 2011

This was the only photograph I managed to take of the apple cider doughnuts before my camera ran out of power.

There was no time to not eat them while the battery charged. Doughnuts (donuts) do not make good leftovers.

One might be surprised at how difficult it is to find a full fat fried doughnut recipe online. I wanted to make apple cider donuts, which are plentiful on the east coast but quite elusive on the Pacific. Recipe after recipe suggested baking them, until I found this one. The blog’s name is apt.

I am not entirely a doughnut making novice. Once long ago my mother and I made Bunce’s Doughnuts from Roald Dahl’s Revolting Recipes. For those of you who have not read Fantastic Mr. Fox (I have not seen the movie, so I don’t know whether this important detail makes the cut), Farmer Bunce has geese and uses their fat to make doughnuts filled with goose liver. That’s right, foie gras doughnuts. These are not those, but apple cider is a nod to Farmer Bean who made his particularly potent.

Naturally, Roald Dahl joined me in this breakfast feast. To be perfectly honest, I made this breakfast entirely for the purpose of inviting Roald Dahl. Of all the varied literary influences of this blog, Dahl is the greatest. I wanted to talk of food and books and food in books. Once he arrived, however, I was too nervous to actually say anything. There we sat, dunking and munching, in cordial silence.

But that was quite nice, too.

One Response to “The Baker’s Dozen”

  1. halenancy said

    Aha, and the blog has the loveliest photo of a fox. You know I never read this novella by Dahl. I think I will need to avail myself of it. Did you ever read any of Dahl’s fiction for adults?

    In the meantime, your donut looks fabulous, and I think I will make them for brunch on a cold day in December and consume them with friends in front to a fire.

Leave a Reply

