Deux Croissants avec Thomas Jefferson

April 18, 2011

Last Sunday Thomas Jefferson came round to share croissants  with me.  Thank goodness he arrived circa 1791 when he was a redhead, otherwise I probably would not have recognized him. The history of croissants is somewhat murky and though Jefferson certainly relished French cuisine, he seems to have expired before the advent of this “pètit engineering marvel” (as Chad Robertson puts it in Tartine Bread). Jefferson did have a recorded fondness for English muffins, so one imagines the continental version would have piqued his interest.

I ate my croissant with both hands, tearing it into delicious buttery shreds and salvaging the crumbs with my forefinger. Jefferson was more civilized. We spoke of common interests: pasta machines, wine, and mathematics. The visit did not last long, I had an upcoming exam and Jefferson needed to start gathering American support for the French Revolution.

Thank goodness I had divided the recipe by eight. Croissants are not so good the next day, and 50 grams is enough butter for one sitting.

5 Responses to “Deux Croissants avec Thomas Jefferson”

  1. Bobby said

    Cooking for other men, I see? Bravo, mon amour.

  2. popZ said

    I think that dividing croissant recipe into 8 would leave croissant ingredients lost in the denominator.

    I am also curious to know how many times the dough is folded?

    • Not when one has a reliable scale! The dough is given three turns, each of which involves folding the dough like a letter, so I suppose that would give a total of 27 layers.

  3. Jesse said

    I ended up with a croissant from La Bergamote today. For some reason TJ makes me think of Mark Twain. His autobiography is just out last year.

    He describes it like this:

    “You will be astonished(&charmed)to see how like talk it is, & how real it sounds, & how well & compactly & sequentially it constructs itself, & what a dewy & breezy & woodsy freshness it has, & what a darling & worshipful absence of the signs of starch, & flatiron, & labor & fuss & the other artificialities!”

  4. halenancy said

    Croissants with Jefferson. Interesting choice. I’m not sure that Jefferson would find them “temperate” enough for his diet. Perhaps one of your lovely vegetarian meals would suit him more.

Leave a Reply

